English Grammar

The Basics of English Language




Definition: An aspect of verb which tells the time of an action is called tense. Tenses have certain rules, according to which a sentence is made.
There are mainly three kinds of tenses.

  1. Present tense
  2. Past tense
  3. Future tense

Each of present, past and future tense is further divided into four kinds.

  1. Simple (Indifinite)
  2. Continuous (progressive)
  3. Perfect 
  4. Perfect Continuous (Perfect progressive)

In this way, there are 12 kinds of tense, which are explained in detail as below



  1. Present Simple Tense
  2. Present Continuous Tense
  3. Present Perfect Tense
  4. Present Perfect Continuous Tense
  5. Past Simple Tense
  6. Past Continuous Tense
  7. Past Perfect Tense
  8. Past Perfect Continuous
  9. Future Simple Tense
  10. Future Continuous Tense
  11. Future Perfect Tense
  12. Future Perfect Continuous